Web Timing - Stops Updating?

Posts: 100
Hi all,

I've really enjoyed the web timing feature, but I'm afraid it stops updating for others when they go to watch it. It'll work for a few minutes and then need a refresh to start working again. I figured this is likely a performance issue with my provider (Using Bluehost) but does anyone know what steps to take to sort this out, or if there are better settings in ATVO? It tends to stop regardless of the update interval I set.

Thanks!

Kyle
Posts: 785
Does it stop sending data, or does the website simply not refresh anymore?

The webtiming is rather simple, it just sends an updated data file to your server every X seconds. On the client side (the people watching), it just refreshes the data every X seconds.

I can imagine there is some kind of caching happening that is causing your webhost to stop grabbing the new data and returning a cached version. Can you enable something like Chrome devtools while watching, perhaps you'll see if the client is still refreshing but pulling old data, or if it's not refreshing at all?
Posts: 100
Nick Thissen wrote:
Does it stop sending data, or does the website simply not refresh anymore?

The webtiming is rather simple, it just sends an updated data file to your server every X seconds. On the client side (the people watching), it just refreshes the data every X seconds.

I can imagine there is some kind of caching happening that is causing your webhost to stop grabbing the new data and returning a cached version. Can you enable something like Chrome devtools while watching, perhaps you'll see if the client is still refreshing but pulling old data, or if it's not refreshing at all?


So I ran it for a few minutes on my stream PC, then loaded up the page on a laptop. About 10 minutes in, The console reported two similar errors. It stopped refreshing after this error.

main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1 ERROR TypeError: Cannot read property 'Ssid' of null
    at t.getEventUrl (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at Hh.project (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at Hh._next (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at Hh.next (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at Hh.notifyNext (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at T._next (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at T.next (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at H._next (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at H.next (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)
    at td._next (main-es2015.2af0a1f04d1b526e67e4.js:1)



And another error spit out on a second go.

ERROR md {headers: rd, status: 200, statusText: "OK", url: "http://symtvbroadcasting.com/livetiming/sessions/data.json?nocache=1607464904051", ok: false, …}

Edited (1 time)
Posts: 785
I'm not sure yet but it looks like the client (your browser) is not receiving the data when it requests it. When I browse to that URL I see the data just fine so it seems to be arriving at your server. I can't see of course if it's actually being updated every time, but you can check yourself if the SessionTime somewhere in the beginning is updating or gets stuck. If that number keeps increasing then ATVO is sending the data just fine, and the issue is on the web side. Could still be either in our webtiming js that you uploaded to your server, or in your server configuration somehow.
Posts: 8
Good evening, I have the same problem that it doesn't automatically update in timing, looking at Kyle's message I checked the console and I see that I have several of the same errors.

I leave the errors in the attached picture, by console in ATVO no problem comes out so I understand that the information sent to the server is correct.

Posts: 785
The error is saying that the JSON data (at your web server address) is invalid. I just checked the data that is there now, and it seems perfectly fine.

Perhaps you kept restarting it manually and the latest data (there now) is valid? When this happens again, can you please send us the json data at the moment that it is failing and throwing this error?

It's possible that something in the json is not quite valid (driver or team names most likely) but without the data I can't see what it would be.
Posts: 8
I have the json from yesterday session that has the errors, i uploaded to wetransfer.

I think this is the file you said you needed.

https://we.tl/t-2hHu5450qM
Posts: 785
That is the "events" file, please send me the "data" file. This one also does not have any errors.
Posts: 8
Nick Thissen wrote:
That is the "events" file, please send me the "data" file. This one also does not have any errors.

So this is the right file

https://we.tl/t-zncf8ODZxC
Posts: 785
There is no error in that file either. I suspect that from time to time an incorrectly formatted file is being received and that's causing the error that stops it from updating. Then ATVO still sends the next file (and the next, and the next) replacing the bad file so I can no longer track it down.

I'll see if we can add some more logging in case this happens, though it will require you to update the webserver on your end as well.
Posts: 8
No problem, if changing the files we can detect where the fault may be, I will be happy to do so
Posts: 8
Good evening, after a while I have revisited the problem we have with the timing and I have finally managed to catch the fault